«

»

Jul
17

Computer Futures spammers and clueless!

Some time ago, like, a year ago… I signed up for an account at codequest.nl.

As usual, I have used an address I can blacklist or destroy if needed (catchall rules!), just to try to find out who steals or buys addresses from others.

It seems the company Computer Futures, is one of the companies that actually steals e-mailaddresses from different sites. I checked with CodeQuest.nl, they have not given or sold my address to Computer Futures, but still, my address popped up in their mailinglist for some reason.

So, not only doesn’t Computer Futures know what kind of people they want to hire to your company (have some experience with this while working for a client of mine, they forged the résumé of this particular person by adding stuff and making stuff up), they also steal e-mailaddresses for no apparent reason.

I do wonder why people want to do business with such a company.

Some of the content of the mail I received:

We are sending you this message because you are registered on the Computer Futures system.  At computer Futures we are committed to protecting the privacy of our users.

Wir schicken Ihnen die folgende Mitteilung, da Sie auf dem System der Computer Futures Solutions registriert sind.  Computer Futures Solutions setzt sich dafür ein den Datenschutz seiner Benutzer zu wahren.

Ce message vous est envoyé car vous êtes enregistré sur le registre de Computer Futures.  Computer Futures est commis à protéger les données personnelles de nos utilisateurs.

Wij sturen u dit bericht omdat u geregistreerd bent in het systeem van Computer Futures.  De bescherming van de privacy van onze gebruikers staat hoog in het vaandel bij Computer Futures.

Data Protection Act Fair Collection Notice: Computer Futures Solutions Ltd will process your data at their offices in London.  We will record information relevant to the provision of IT recruitment services to your company, including your name, business address, telephone number, e-mail address and details of your requirements.  We will use the data to forward to you information on candidates/IT consultants and projects and services we think maybe of interest to you. We may pass your information on to other parts of our group who provide related services.  We will hold your data as we may be able to provide you with useful information and services in the future.  If you do not want to receive such communications, wish to update your registration or have any queries concerning this statement, please contact  <mailto:[email protected]> [email protected]  To view our Privacy Statement please click here …http://www.computerfutures.co.uk/stateviewer.php?file=CF%20UK%20(English)%20Client.txt


Computer Futures Solutions is on of Europe’s largest IT staffing business, with a network of offices throughout the UK and Europe.  We have an unparalleled ability to recruit on either a contract or permanent basis, all types and level of IT professional.

By investing extensively in technology we provide you, our client, competitive advantage in the “War for Talent”.  This investment will continue, keeping Computer Futures Solutions at the forefront of the staffing industry.


Use Discovery, our sophisticated search facility, to access one of the
most comprehensive databases of contractors in Europe.
<– I just get the idea, they harvested this database from other sites ;-)
http://www.computerfutures.com/index.php?dir=olr&sec=employers

Okay, I admit, I’m a bad boy, as I’m not following the ‘the mail is strictly confidential’ part, but since this was SPAM anyways and, well, I did not agree to the following:

This electronic transmission is strictly confidential and intended solely
for the addressee. If you are not the intended addressee, or have
otherwise received this transmission in error, you must not disclose,
copy or take any action in reliance of this transmission.

I hope any reader of this message will think twice before doing business with these spammers.

And yeah, I validated this actually originated from their servers. At least, it was the same network supplier, with the IP’s registered to the same address in the RIPE systems…

Please note, I’m saying this all in the form of personal opinion and free speech.

If any employee of Computer Futures would like to give me a valid explanation as to why an e-mail address, solely in existence for one site (which is not affiliated with Computer Futures), is spamming me, please contact me ;-) .

And yeah, I know this is badly written, I’m just pissed off…

1 comment

  1. Computer Futures spammers and clueless! | India LPO says:

    [...] the original post: Computer Futures spammers and clueless! AKPC_IDS += "1218,";Popularity: unranked [...]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>